2017-10-12 / Front Page

Tribal Court Orders Electrical Cooperative To Hold Meeting On Rosebud


Mission, S.D. – Cherry Todd Electric Cooperative members who didn’t attend the Annual Meeting held in Valentine, Nebraska last month will have a second chance to vote in the Director election.

A Rosebud Sioux Tribal Judge ordered on September 12, 2017 that Cherry Todd Electric Cooperative must have a second meeting in Todd County, South Dakota in October. The Court Order was issued after the Plaintiffs, Rose Cordier and the Rosebud Sioux Tribe, filed a petition in the Tribal Court.

Many Cooperative members also voiced concerns about the Annual Meeting held in Cherry County, Nebraska citing the lack of transportation which hindered attendance. Consequently, most of the Coop members are tribal citizens residing in Todd County, South Dakota.

Cherry Todd Electric Cooperative is comprised of 3244 members. Todd County has 2,386 Cooperative members which comprises 74% of the total membership. Mellette County has 575 Cooperative members which is 18% of the total membership. 155 Cooperative members are undesignated and equals 5% of the membership. In addition, 128 members live in Cherry County, Nebraska making up 4% of the total membership. This information was provided by the Oyate For Fairness and Equal Representation (OFFER) Facebook page.

The second meeting is supposed to mirror the meeting held in Valentine, NE last month. Coop members who did not attend the first meeting will be allowed to cast a vote in the second meeting to elect one new director to serve a 3-year term on the board.

Candidates for the Cherry Todd Electric Coop board seat are JR Reagle, Richard Schneider (incumbent) and Noah (Sandy) Tucker.

Current Cherry Todd Electric Coop Directors include Richard Schneider, Byron Stolzenburg, Justin Brickner, Whitney Meek, Dave Assman, Dan Valburg, Shawn Bordeaux and Kathleen Wooden Knife.

The meeting is scheduled to start at 2pm on Friday, October 27, 2017 at the Father Paul (St. Thomas) Hall in Mission, SD. Cooperative members will be receiving a new registration form in the mail. Please watch for this registration form and bring it to the meeting with you as it is needed to vote. If you voted at the September 13 meeting in Valentine, NE you cannot vote again.

This second meeting will give all Cooperative members the opportunity to vote and to hear the reports listed on the agenda. Please plan to attend this very important meeting.

For more information please call OFFER Coordinator Ronald Neiss at (605) 208-6136, Paula Antoine at (605) 828-0740, Rose Cordier at (605) 747- 2381 or Dan Gargan at (605) 319-0339.

Return to top

Look Who's Reading!

Lakota Country Times
Powered by Como

New E-Edition

Click here for E-Edition
2017-10-12 digital edition

Oglala Lakota Nation Newsletter

Click below to read the newsletter

LCT Classifieds

Click below to view our classifieds!
Lakota Country Times, Newspapers, Martin, SD